16 November 2012

#6 Phylum Arthropods

There are more arthropods than any other group of animals, so they are divided into classes: 

Insects, Crustaceans, Arachnids and Myriapods.

4 classes of Arthropods  

1. Insects  

Insects are a very successful group, due to their exoskeleton and tracheae, which are very good at stopping water from evaporating from insects’s body, so they can live in very dry places.

2. Crustaceans 

These are the crabs, lobsters and woodlice. They breath through gills, so most of them live in wet places and many are aquatic.

3. Arachnids 

These are spiders, ticks and scorpions. They are land-dwelling organisms. 

4. Myriapods 

These are the centipedes and millipedes.